A new era of Australian netball began on 18th February 2017.

That was the day Netball Australia and Netball New Zealand officially parted ways.

The old ANZ Championship was over. But out of the ashes rose something different: Suncorp Super Netball (SSN). A new national netball league, backed by Suncorp, Telstra and the Nine Network. 

Alongside existing clubs – the Adelaide Thunderbirds, Melbourne Vixens, NSW Swifts, Queensland Firebirds and West Coast Fever – we welcomed three fresh teams. GIANTS Netball, Magpies Netball Club and the Sunshine Coast Lightning. Up to 80 professional athletes could now share a landmark player pool of $5.4 million.

Since then, the Suncorp Super Netball league has become the world’s premier professional netball league.